Infos zur Fachzeitschrift

Creative Commons License

As of 2023 the MGfU is published under a CC BY-NC 4.0 license.

CC = Creative Commons
BY = Credit must be given to the creator
NC = only noncommercial uses of the work are permitted

Open Access material offered through Kerns Verlag is freely available to download, save, reproduce, and transmit for noncommercial, scholarly, and educational purposes under the Creative Commons BY-NC 4.0 license.

Reproduction and transmission of content for the above purposes should credit the author and original source.

Manuscript submission

Submit contributions directly to the editors:

Nicholas Conard
Universität Tübingen
Abteilung Ältere Urgeschichte und Quartärökologie
Burgsteige 11
72070 Tübingen

Michael Bolus
Heidelberger Akademie der Wissenschaften, Universität Tübingen
Forschungsstelle „The role of culture in early expansions of humans“
Hölderlinstraße 12
72074 Tübingen

Manuscript preparation & review

See our guidelines.

All scientific contributions will be subject to peer review.

Publication process

All contributions are reviewed initially by the editors. Within a reasonable timeframe, authors will be told whether their articles have been accepted or declined. If accepted the articles will be sent out for peer review, reviewers selected by the editorial board of the journal.

Once an article has been accepted, it will be subject to copyediting. Authors will have a chance to review their copyedited articles and to make additional changes. Once an article has been placed in layout, only minor corrections will be allowed.
As of 2023, articles in the MGfU will be published under the CC BY-NC 4.0 license. All authors will retain their copyright. Published versions will then be available to download, save or reproduce and transmit for noncommercial, scholarly and educational purposes under the Creative Commons BY-NC 4.0 license.

Author Charges

We are currently developing our article processing charges for upcoming publications.

Editorial Board

Shara Bailey (New York)
François Bon (Toulouse)
Ariane Burke (Montreal)
Katja Douze (Geneva)
Clive Gamble (London)
Sabine Gaudzinski-­Windheuser (Mainz)
Katerina Harvati (Tübingen)
Jean-­Jacques Hublin (Leipzig)
Robert L. Kelly (Laramie, Wyoming)
Johannes Krause (Leipzig/Tübingen)
Steven L. Kuhn (Tucson)
Foni Le Brun­-Ricalens (Luxemburg)
Feng Li (Beijing)
Christopher E. Miller (Tübingen)
Philip Nigst (Vienna)
Akira Ono (Tokyo)
Marco Peresani (Ferrara)
Guillaume Porraz (Aix-­en­-Provence)
Jürgen Richter (Köln)
Simone Riehl (Tübingen)
Florent Rivals (Tarragona)
Wil Roebroeks (Leiden)
Veerle Rots (Liège)
Britt M. Starkovich (Tübingen)
Thorsten Uthmeier (Erlangen)
Pawel Valde-­Nowak (Krakow)
Lyn Wadley (Johannesburg)